Composer Profile – Lucas Floyd

Contact CSIC to Commission Lucas Floyd 

lucas-floydComposer: Lucas Floyd
State: CA
Primary Genre(s): Contemporary Classical, Contemporary Choral
Audio Sample:
Piano Trio No.1 Mvmt. III Dance

Biography: Lucas Floyd (b. 1988) is an American composer whose music reflects beauty and truth via unmistakable melodies, earnest harmonic landscapes, and structures large and small. Whether in the concert hall, church service, or film score, Lucas desires to bring deeply felt musical experiences to everyday people.

His work has been performed recently by pianist Paul BarnesCelli@Berkeley, the International Orange Chorale, and the Paul Delgado Singers. Lucas has also collaborated with Timothy Lees, the American Harp Society, the Brazosport Symphony Orchestra, and the Guerrilla Composers Guild.

Lucas has received masterclasses from John Adams and Don Freund, and other instruction from Mason Bates, and David Conte. He studied with Elinor Armer and Conrad Susa at the San Francisco Conservatory (MM) and Robert Denham at Biola University (BM). He grew up in Peru, currently lives in San Francisco, and performs frequently as an oboist.