Composer Geoffrey Gordon

Four Preludes

For SATB, Strings and Piano. Duration: 7:00

*a CSIC commission


The strings, keyboard and choir are in full partner in this piece inspired by the poem, “Preludes” by T.S. Eliot. The strings in particular execute a number of extended techniques—from sul ponticello and sul tasto, to Bartok pizzicato, natural and artificial harmonics to double and triple stops to thrown bows and expressive glissandi—in an effort to further underline this magnificent text. Over the course of seven minutes, “Four Preludes” attempts to capture the beauty and power of this poetry, from the dramatic opening measures to the quietly expressive conclusion. “An infinitely gentle, infinitely suffering thing…”

Buy or rent this score from Geoffrey Gordon

Contact CSIC to commission this composer